Daily Archives: June 10, 2013

Bacon bar!

Spiced bacon twists
Spiced bacon twists

This is tremendously exciting.  I am reviewing my options for the Bacon Bar that is part of the Swine Ball this year. If you live in Nashville, you may know that there is a Swan Ball, which is attended by extremely wealthy people and to which hardly anyone, relative to the size of the city, is invited. And then there is the Swine Ball, which requires that you wear pig noses, participate in a hog calling contest and get pretty sloppy drunk. My kind of party as long as you have a designated driver or a hotel room within walking distance.

This year, my nonprofit is a beneficiary of the proceeds. And since the Community Resource Center is renowned worldwide, or at least within a three-block radius, for our Bacon Wednesdays the Chicks are sponsoring a Bacon Bar. I guarantee you that the sad people attending the Swan Ball who must make do with some catered steak meal would be shoving each other out of the way to get to a Bacon Bar.

Bacon-wrapped cocktail weenies - pork-on-pork love
Bacon-wrapped cocktail weenies – pork-on-pork love

So here’s what I’ve got so far: bacon-wrapped cocktail weenies; spiced bacon twists; peanut butter, dark chocolate chip and bacon cookies; and what Betsy/Chick II calls Bacon Classic (just your basic cooked bacon unadorned). Yes, I love that part of my job is to stay home and cook bacon.

But I need a couple more options. What have you got for me? Here are the rules. It can’t take a long time to prepare because I’m making all the Bacon Bar offerings myself for 150 people (anyone want a free jar of bacon grease – I’ll have about 20 of them).  And it has to taste good, even sitting at room temperature for an hour or so. No, I am not worried about food safety. Bacon is cured.  And the Swine Ball patrons will already be pickled.