The organizers

Stacy and Betsy
Stacy and Betsy

CRC World Headquarters was a very scary place yesterday. There was organizing going on. A lot of intense organizing.

My best friend, Stacy, is visiting from Chicago and came to help at CRC during the monthly giveaway. Stacy will organize my glove compartment on the way to the grocery store. The last time I visited her, I was amazed to find no papers of any kind stacked anywhere in the house. “Where are all your papers?” I asked her. “Your bills and magazines? Where are they?”

“I have them organized in folders,” she said. Really? Folders?

IMG_1122So I knew it was either going to be a bloody battlefield or Betsy and she would become sisters under the skin because Betsy is just as bad as Stacy. Or, perhaps, I should say just as talented.

It’s not difficult to organize a pallet of toothpaste, but it’s the decorative donations that apparently need some order and symmetry. “Where do you want me to put this,” Stacy asked the first day, holding up a doo-dad. “I don’t care,” I said. Stacy did not realize that I don’t care because I have no say in this matter anyway. Betsy is the one who decides where everything goes.

I am happy to report that Betsy and Stacy got along famously. They organized every section of every table by theme and compatible color. They organized the clothing by type and style. It made my head spin and I retreated to the other side of the warehouse. As I said, it was intense.

 

About CRC Nashville

Who are we? We are literally two chicks - Catherine Mayhew and Betsy Everett, and a warehouse - the Community Resource Center (CRC). In short, CRC is a non-profit organization that provides household goods, furniture, and appliances to people in desperate need. Think of us as Robin Hoods – without the stealing. Catherine is a former journalist and Betsy is a marketing chick. We are both devoted to acquiring stuff – good stuff, no junk – because that’s what our most fragile citizens deserve. If you have metal desks, televisions that don’t work or underwear you don’t want anymore, don’t give it to us. We’ll sneer at you. If you are companies that have excess primo stuff like furniture in good condition, school supplies, personal hygiene items or pretty much anything else, we’ll be your new best friends. For more information: www.crcnashville.org Fan, Follow, and Friend CRC or Join our Cause CRCNashville - Twitter Community Resource Center - Facebook and Myspace Community Resource Center (CRC) - Facebook Cause

Leave a Reply

