My Medal of Awesomeness

Missy Franklin has gold but does she have the Medal of Awesomeness?

I do not want,  in any form, to take away from the Olympic athletes who have won medals during the London games. We are so proud of all of them.

But. BUT. Have they won the Medal of Awesomeness? I have.

I believe my corn flake endorsement deal is next.

Last week, I chronicled my struggles to comprehend the new Emma e-mail system and the huge level of help I got from their very kind staff. I described myself as a moron, which in the world of technology I am. However, the people at Emma think otherwise. This arrived in the mail today:

“Catherine, Mary from Emma Support Team here. I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your super funny and kind blog post. As this medal suggests, we happen to think you are quite awesome. Not a moron at all. It is our pleasure to get to work with such great folks as yourself. Please accept this medal and let us know how we can help in the future. Cheers! Mary.”

Well, I just couldn’t be happier. I trained hard for this medal. Let’s see, I goofed up the copying machine so that it won’t print labels. I took videos with my phone when I thought I was shooting photos. And every time I start my laptop this comes up: “The procedure entry point sqlite3_wal_checkpoint could not be located in the dynamic link library.” I don’t know what in the hell that means.

But despite all this, my friends at Emma think I am awesome and have awarded me a prestigious medal which I will proudly wear for the rest of my life. When I go to the Publix or the post office, people will inquire. “What is that around your neck?” And I will proudly answer, “Why, that’s my Medal of Awesomeness.”

Thanks, Emma friends. I will probably be calling you next week with my next technological gaffe. Is there a Medal of Stupendousness I can shoot for?

About CRC Nashville

Who are we? We are literally two chicks - Catherine Mayhew and Betsy Everett, and a warehouse - the Community Resource Center (CRC). In short, CRC is a non-profit organization that provides household goods, furniture, and appliances to people in desperate need. Think of us as Robin Hoods – without the stealing. Catherine is a former journalist and Betsy is a marketing chick. We are both devoted to acquiring stuff – good stuff, no junk – because that’s what our most fragile citizens deserve. If you have metal desks, televisions that don’t work or underwear you don’t want anymore, don’t give it to us. We’ll sneer at you. If you are companies that have excess primo stuff like furniture in good condition, school supplies, personal hygiene items or pretty much anything else, we’ll be your new best friends. For more information: www.crcnashville.org Fan, Follow, and Friend CRC or Join our Cause CRCNashville - Twitter Community Resource Center - Facebook and Myspace Community Resource Center (CRC) - Facebook Cause

2 thoughts on “My Medal of Awesomeness

Leave a Reply

