Operator error

Operator error. The two words that best describe someone who is trying to learn a new system, technology, procedure and just can’t quite figure it out. For example, me. I am eat up with operator error. So, this is what I’ve looked like the last two days, sitting in front of my computer by the dock door, as I’ve tried to create the August newsletter using Emma’s new e-mail design system:

Clueless

First let me say I love the people at Emma. If you don’t already use them for your mass e-mail needs, you need to sign up today. No matter how dumb you are they will treat you with kindness and bend over backwards to help you.

Here is my e-mail exchange with the Support team at Emma.

Me: “I am having serious issues trying to get a newsletter out under the new system. No matter how narrow I try to make it, the copy is way outside the borders of the header. What is currently created is not at all what I want it to look like but I cannot figure out how to make this work. I realize it’s operator error, but I’ve been at this for two days. The campaign is called Adventures in Chickland August. Thanks for any advice. Catherine”

Anna

Emma: Thanks for reaching out. I just saved a copy of the campaign called Adventures in Chickland August v2. I switched the layout to a one column layout, which got rid of those extra, empty boxes to the right. I *think* that helped bring the campaign in a bit more. Could you take a look and see if this will work for you? I hope so, but if you’re still having trouble or have any other questions, just let me know!

Cheers, Anna

Me:  See below (I send them a copy of my newsletter, which still looks completely goofy). That’s what it looks like in e-mail form so it’s still not working. Thanks for helping me with this. Catherine

I’m sorry to hear that didn’t help! I hopped into your account, and it looks like that campaign may have been edited since the last time I looked at it, so to be safe, I just started a brand new one. It’s called Emma Test. I’ve tried a few tests of that to my own inbox and I’m not seeing the same problem as before. Can you give it a try and let me know if that’s working better for you?
Thanks, Anna

At this point, it obviously becomes apparent to the people at Emma that they are dealing with a complete moron, although they will never say that in a million, trillion years. But I can say it. They’re dealing with a moron. A member of the design team jumps in (and I have edited this for space).

Brian

Hi there, Catherine. This is Brian from the Design team hopping in. Good news – I overhauled your “The CRC Template” code and things are now working just fine.

However, I do want to point out one thing I see in your “Adventures from Chickland August v2” new editor campaign. The template is still breaking away a bit from the surrounding border. That’s because your image above the y Giveaway area (same image as header) was dragged into the text box – it’s not in a proper image area.

Otherwise, you’re all set. Have a great night. Brian

Of course, I have no idea what the “y Giveaway area” is (Area 52?) but I don’t care because they have fixed my problem. However, continuing in my moronic vein, I confidently hit the send button and then realize that I never changed the name of the mailing to “Adventures in Chickland” from “emma test”. So more than 3,000 people got the newsletter from the Community Resource Center with the subject “emma test.” Sigh.

But you know what? I got more response than usual. We thought Adventures in Chickland was a pretty catchy title, but apparently it’s not nearly as sexy as “emma test.” I wonder if they have that copyrighted…

 

 

About CRC Nashville

Who are we? We are literally two chicks - Catherine Mayhew and Betsy Everett, and a warehouse - the Community Resource Center (CRC). In short, CRC is a non-profit organization that provides household goods, furniture, and appliances to people in desperate need. Think of us as Robin Hoods – without the stealing. Catherine is a former journalist and Betsy is a marketing chick. We are both devoted to acquiring stuff – good stuff, no junk – because that’s what our most fragile citizens deserve. If you have metal desks, televisions that don’t work or underwear you don’t want anymore, don’t give it to us. We’ll sneer at you. If you are companies that have excess primo stuff like furniture in good condition, school supplies, personal hygiene items or pretty much anything else, we’ll be your new best friends. For more information: www.crcnashville.org Fan, Follow, and Friend CRC or Join our Cause CRCNashville - Twitter Community Resource Center - Facebook and Myspace Community Resource Center (CRC) - Facebook Cause

One thought on “Operator error

Leave a Reply

