Weather weenies

The day before giveaway

And all through the warehouse

Boxes are everywhere

And probably a stray mouse

The agencies will be here

To pick up their presents

So Christmas will come

To those who have less

The high today will be 22 degrees. There is snow and ice on the ground. Our temporary 90,000-square-foot warehouse is not heated and Kim has just texted me that she and Betsy agree that it’s time to buy a space heater. Weenies.

It’s the day before the Christmas Giveaway and there are still piles to be put together for the almost 80 agencies that will pick up tomorrow so their clients can have something in their stockings Christmas morning. This is absolutely the best week of the holiday season for me.

But let’s get back to this space heater issue. Last winter, when it was just Betsy and me in our own warehouse I let her lips turn blue before I cut on the heat. I mean, I gave the girl some long underwear. Just buck up. I had thought Kim was a little tougher. Here they are. The two conspirators in our luxurious warehouse offices. Bundled up in their winter coats. Plotting. Plotting to get a space heater that will emit a twizzle of warmth that will immediately float up to the top of the 14-foot ceiling. I’m just saying.

It’s not that I’m cheap, which I am. I am standing on principle. The principle of discomfort. The principle that a $39 space heater will not make them appreciably warmer. And I realize that I am digging my own very cold grave because should this paltry space heater emit even a smidgen of warmth those two will not share it with me.

No room around our plastic desk table for the executive director. Guess I’ll have to get some thicker thermal socks.

About CRC Nashville

Who are we? We are literally two chicks - Catherine Mayhew and Betsy Everett, and a warehouse - the Community Resource Center (CRC). In short, CRC is a non-profit organization that provides household goods, furniture, and appliances to people in desperate need. Think of us as Robin Hoods – without the stealing. Catherine is a former journalist and Betsy is a marketing chick. We are both devoted to acquiring stuff – good stuff, no junk – because that’s what our most fragile citizens deserve. If you have metal desks, televisions that don’t work or underwear you don’t want anymore, don’t give it to us. We’ll sneer at you. If you are companies that have excess primo stuff like furniture in good condition, school supplies, personal hygiene items or pretty much anything else, we’ll be your new best friends. For more information: www.crcnashville.org Fan, Follow, and Friend CRC or Join our Cause CRCNashville - Twitter Community Resource Center - Facebook and Myspace Community Resource Center (CRC) - Facebook Cause

6 thoughts on “Weather weenies

  1. Really? She called us weenies? From the warmth of her “home office” aka living room? Can I just point out this warehouse is 90,000 square foot, high ceiling, concrete and steel structure. And I am FORCED to run in and out all day, as I lovingly help our local flood survivors. She wouldn’t even drive down her little hill to get to work yesterday!!!

    It is only 16 degrees outside right now. And about 20 in here. Weenies? Really?

  2. I’d be pitching a tent inside that big old warehouse, putting my plastic desk table in there, and blowing some warm air into it just to have a warm spot to escape to every once in awhile. Not the best situation, but better than cold concrete and steel for sure.

  3. I was just wondering how my family might receive a little assistance. We lost everything in the May flood and I have not been able to find any places that are still helping families.Thank you

    1. Emma,
      You should call 211 or contact a case manager at one of the United Way Restore the Dream centers. They have information on available resources. We hope you are able to bounce back from this and have a wonderful holiday season!

Leave a Reply

