The little things

little thingsAlmost every day I  post a positive quote as my Facebook status. Usually it’s based on my mood or what’s going on in my life, and it always serves as inspiration for my day. When you’re going through the motions of life – get up, kids to school, go to work, etc. – it’s easy to get lost in the day to day. You’d be surprised how much a quote can help you focus on what’s really important.

Today I found this quote by Antonio Smith. I have no idea who he is, but I love what he had to say.

“Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things….”

In yesterday’s blog,  A place for everything, Catherine wrote about our new shelves and my obsession with organizing. The little thing of organizing our warehouse just made my day. I went home with a great big smile.

Neatly Organized Shelves - Ahhhhh
Neatly Organized Shelves - Ahhhhh

At CRC we are constantly reminded of how much the little things really matter. We hear heartbreaking stories of people who can’t afford soap and socks. We also hear about the grannies in the senior centers who light up when they receive ceramic roosters and Hillbilly Hank figurines from CRC. All little things we take for granted – soap, socks, gifts, kind gestures.

It’s good to remember all of these little things add up to big things like dignity and joy.

Betsy A. Everett (Chick 2)

For information on little things you can do to support CRC, visit www.crcnashville.org.

Leave a Reply

