Musings of a homeless girl

I came across this while I was searching for something else on the internet (isn’t that always the way?). I’m meeting with a group from the Homelessness Commission this afternoon, trying to find ways CRC can help them put homeless folks in housing.  This is an excerpt from a blog written by a 19-year-old homeless girl in England.  Not the stereotypical image of a homeless person, I think you’ll agree. Maybe there shouldn’t be a stereotype of someone who’s down on their luck, eh?

This may be an offensive post to some people who will probably think I have no idea what I’m talking about. But I would rather have cancer than be homeless.

I’m not saying that having cancer is easy or any sickness is good. So let me get that straight.

This whole experience that I’ve gone through has been the worst thing that has ever happened to me, the truth is I have no control whatsoever over my life.

Most homeless people or disadvantaged people have options in their lives. Even if you are sleeping on the street, you have the option to look for a job, to volunteer, to go on assisted living. I have none. I am a statistic that no one wants and an afterthought that has never been seen by society. I am neither here nor there but living in a world of uncertainty just barely hanging there.

But if I could trade my homelessness for someones sickness, I would take it. Not because I think cancer is less than homelessness but because my pain would be external and not internal.

I would be able to look forward to getting better or dying.  Either way there is an end.

I could go to a hospital and be in one place, I wouldn’t have to move around and beg people to let me stay in their house.

Even if I lay in pain I could control the pain with medication and lie in a bed for as long as I wanted. I don’t even have a bed to call my own.

Many times I wish I was someone else. When I have conversations with people I look at them thinking I wish I was you right now so you could take the thoughts I have about what I’m going to do next or the vast emptiness of where my happiness used to be. I wish you could take it so that I wouldn’t know the pain you are going through or the lies you tell every time some one asks what you are doing with your life.

I wish, I wish, I wish…

No matter how hard it will never come true. I just have to make the best of what I have.

Yours Always, Homeless Girl

About CRC Nashville

Who are we? We are literally two chicks - Catherine Mayhew and Betsy Everett, and a warehouse - the Community Resource Center (CRC). In short, CRC is a non-profit organization that provides household goods, furniture, and appliances to people in desperate need. Think of us as Robin Hoods – without the stealing. Catherine is a former journalist and Betsy is a marketing chick. We are both devoted to acquiring stuff – good stuff, no junk – because that’s what our most fragile citizens deserve. If you have metal desks, televisions that don’t work or underwear you don’t want anymore, don’t give it to us. We’ll sneer at you. If you are companies that have excess primo stuff like furniture in good condition, school supplies, personal hygiene items or pretty much anything else, we’ll be your new best friends. For more information: www.crcnashville.org Fan, Follow, and Friend CRC or Join our Cause CRCNashville - Twitter Community Resource Center - Facebook and Myspace Community Resource Center (CRC) - Facebook Cause

Leave a Reply

